UTMB's Clinical and Translational Science Award

The Institute for Translational Sciences (ITS) is the academic home of UTMB’s Clinical Translational Sciences Award (CTSA) funded by the National Institutes of Health-National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS). Currently, there are 62 CTSA institutions, including 4 in Texas (UTMB, UTHSC Houston, UTHSC San Antonio, and UT Southwestern), in 31 states and the District of Columbia that are active members of the CTSA Consortium. These institutions are working together to speed the translation of research discoveries into improved health by transforming the way biomedical research is conducted. Programs are designed to address barriers to clinical and translational research, train a new generation of clinical and translational researchers, and engage communities in research.

Aligned with the goals of our Institution, our CTSA seeks to facilitate translational research as a rigorous discipline, develop translational research training programs at all levels in the graduate continuum, effectively conduct and bridge step 1 translational research to steps 2 and 3, and interface productively with the national CTSA consortium. To accomplish these goals, we have organized our CTSA to systematically support the formation, conduct, evaluation and translational outcome of 14 competitively selected multidisciplinary translational teams (MTTs) thematically organized around our successful NIH-funded interdisciplinary research centers.

CTSA Clinical & Translational Science Awards

These collaborative teams develop, demonstrate, and disseminate innovative methods and technologies relevant to a broad range of diseases and conditions, including cancer, neurological disorders, heart disease and multiple rare diseases. MTTs, which serve as exemplary learning environments for the next generation of translational investigators, are supported by a diversity of university core laboratories and intellectual resources. The CTSA provides access through a single point of contact and is governed by an NIH-style Executive Committee, as well as Internal and External Advisory Committees.