ITS SciTR students win neuroscience prizes

May 5, 2023, 16:36 PM by Susan Rojahn

Congratulations to students Seth Buscho and Alfredo Sandoval on receiving Dr. and Mrs. Seymour Fisher Academic Excellence Awards in Neuroscience. The $5,000 awards acknowledge an excellent paper on any neuroscience topic. Buscho, a medical student, and Sandoval, an MD-PhD student, are participants in the ITS’s Scholarly Concentration in Translational Research (SciTR) program, which is supported by a Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) from the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS).

Buscho’s paper covers a potential non-invasive method for early diagnoses of Alzheimer’s disease and other neurodegenerative diseases. Sandoval’s work describes a method for studying the activity of brain cells.  

Both students are also former ITS TL1 trainees, having completed the coursework and mentorship programs of the short-term TL1 program for medical students at UTMB. This program is also supported by NCATS funding.

For more information on the SciTR program, visit:

 For more information on the TL1 program, visit: